Visit and patrimony
Art of Campanology Museum
Located under the old grain market, the museum displays a collection of bells, carillons, cowbells, sleigh-bells, subrejougs… coming from all over the world. You will discover its monumental clock and a carillon from the Bastille.
Open daily except Tuesday :
- From 15 June to 14 September : open from 10 to 12 a.m. and from 2:30 to 6:30 p.m.
- From 15 September to 14 June : open from 10 to 12 a.m. and from 2:30 to 5:30 p.m.
Fees : adults 4.50€, children 2€
Claude Augé’s House
Originator of “Le Petit Larousse Illustraté”, Claude Augé was born in L’Isle-Jourdain. His former house has been transformed into an exhibition hall displaying all his published work, its stained glasses of Art Nouveau design, including the one called “La Semeuse”, the symbol of the Larousse editions.
Open Saturdays – Guided tour for groups by appointment.
Address : Place de l’Hôtel de Ville – 32600 L’Isle-Jourdain
+ 33 (0)5 62 07 30 01
The collegiate church of Saint-Martin
Built as a collegiate church in 1318, destroyed during religious wars, a single tower remains, witnessing the splendor of original building. It was rebuilt in 1785, in a neoclassical style. Free entrance.
The chateau of Panat
It was built in the late 18th century. This large mansion houses various souvenirs from the Marquis’ journeys. It is now a private property.
The Tourné bridge
This 12th century bridge is made of bricks and has lost its original road surface. Its name “Tourné” refers to the fact that it is not perpendicular to the Save river bed.